Monday, August 8, 2011
Why does Canada lack Cultural Expression in the media?
Well.....speaking as a Canadian, I can tell you that I do not base my cultural identity on celebrities, musicians and athletes. Of course the US is going to dominate the media, they have a much larger population and waste a ton of money on the industry each year. Hockey does not fit your example at all, as the teams may be located in the US, due to what cities can support a team financially, and fan base wise, but don't forgey about all the Canadian and European players on said teams. The NHL is still more than half players from Canada. As for the NFL expanding into TO, I give it only a few years before the team folds. The majority of Canadians prefer the CFL to the NFL any day.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment